1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. Warrumbungle Waste

Waste Collection and Transfer Station Services


Weekly kerbside and recycle.  For additional information click the following links;

Collection Days

Bins and Recyclable Products.

Kerbside pickup will commence at 6 am. To ensure that your recycling is picked up please place bins out the night before pickup

Recycling Collection Day Calendar 2020

Click here to view the 2020 Recycling Collection Day Calendar for Binnaway, Baradine, Coonabarabran, Coolah, Dunedoo and Mendooran.

Rural Run Collection

Rural Runs collection days continues to be picked up on a fortnightly basis.

Click here to download a Domestic Waste Service Request Form

ChemCollect - Household Chemical Cleanout


To register your unwanted chemicals, or to locate other ChemClear sites, call the hotline on 1800 008 182 or visit www.chemclear.com.au.  

Further information on this service is available by contacting the Materials Handling Centre  on 02 6842 5003.

Drum Muster

This service is available by appointment only and operates from Monday to Friday from 8.00am to 3.30pm.  All chemical drums for disposal must be triple rinsed.  See HERE for further details.


Volume of waste collected for the Shire per year, including bins and transfer stations is 3,067 tons.

The number of bins collected over the Shire is 3,000.

Bins and Recyclable Products

Bins and Recyclable Products advice including: Bin placement for collection What cannot go in the bin Damaged or stolen bins Extra bins Recyclable products What cannot go in the recycle bins

Materials Handling Centre

The Warrumbungle Shire Council has a recycling centre at the Materials Handling Centre at Coonabarabran. Operating Hours are Monday to Friday 8.00am to 4.40pm and Saturday and Sunday 8.00am to 5.00pm.

Town and Village Scavenging Areas

There are six towns and seven villages within the Warrumbungle Shire Council enjoying these services. These areas are called scavenging areas
Click here to view Scavenging Area Maps

Waste Transfer Stations

Click here to see Waste Management Tipping Fees.  

Locations for Waste Transfer Stations include Baradine, Binnaway, Coolah, Mendooran and Dunedoo. 

See table below for operating hours.

Waste Transfer Station – Opening Times


Goorianawa Road, Baradine

8.30 am to 4.30 pm
Saturday *

9.00 am to 12 noon
Tuesday and Thursday


Warrumbungle Way, Binnaway

8.30 am to 4.30 pm
Sunday *

2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Tuesday and Thursday


101 Neilrex Road, Coolah

8.30 am to 4.30 pm
and Saturday *

9.00 am to 12.00 noon

Coonabarabran 4202 Baradine Road, Coonabarabran

8.00 am to 4.30 pm
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

8.00 am to 5.00 pm
Saturday and Sunday

Closed between 12 noon and 1 pm


128 Avonside Road,


8.30 am to 4.30 pm
Sunday *

2.30 pm to 4.30 pm
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday

Mendooran Tooraweenah Road, Mendooran

8.30 am to 4.30 pm
Sunday *

2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Monday and Tuesday

Ulamambri       Box Ridge Road, Ulamambri

8.00 am to 12.00 noon

12.00 noon to 4.00 pm

Please note: * Transfer stations will be including a lunch break for council staff where the facility is open all day. Transfer Stations will close between 12 noon and 12.30 pm

Please note: All Councils Transfer Stations and the Coonabarabran Landfill are closed on Public Holidays.

Asbestos Management

Visit the SafeWork NSW - Asbestos website for information on handling asbestos, including fact sheets to download.


The Asbestos Awareness website also provides important information for home owners and renovators to be aware of how to safely manage asbestos in and around the home.

Should you have any queries or concerns regarding Asbestos, please contact Council's Supervisor of Waste and Landfill on 0419 281 940.

Last Updated: 11 Aug 2020