1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. breadcrumbs separator
  5. Articles

Orana Joint Organisation

Joint Organisations (JOs) are new local government entities with legal powers to support councils to work together for better rural and regional outcomes. The NSW Government established Joint Organisations under the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act) in 2018.  They are an important initiative to build stronger councils and improve service delivery and infrastructure across rural and regional communities.

The Orana JO Membership consists of (6) member councils and covers an area of 60,000 square kilometres and has a population of 50,000 people. The following are ‘member councils’ of the Orana Joint Organisation:

  • Cobar
  • Gilgandra
  • Mid-Western Regional
  • Narromine
  • Warrumbungle

Governing board and role -The board of Orana Joint Organisation consists of:

  • the mayors of each member council
  • a representative of the NSW Government, nominated by the Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet, who is Ashley Albury, Director Western, NSW Regional Co-ordination, Regional NSW Department Premier and Cabinet
  • General Managers of each member council, who are non-voting representatives.

The Orana Joint Organisation will act in accordance with the following principles:

  • establish strategic regional priorities for the joint organisation area and develop strategies and plans for delivering these priorities
  • provide regional leadership for the joint organisation area and to be an advocate for strategic regional priorities
  • identify and take up opportunities for intergovernmental cooperation on matters relating to the joint organisation area.

The vision of Orana Joint Organisation is:

“To be a leading Joint Organisation known for a high level of achievement, collaborative excellence and strong commitment to the region’s communities.”

For further information visit the website https://www.oranajointorganisation.nsw.gov.au

Last Updated: 10 Dec 2019