Australia Day Awards 2024

On Australia Day 2024 communities across the Warrumbungle local government area came together to “Reflect, Respect and Celebrate” what’s great about our country, our local communities and some outstanding local achievers.

Councillors joined community members and the visiting Australia Day Ambassadors at events across the local government area. Warrumbungle Shire Council Mayor, Councillor Ambrose Doolan, attended events in Binnaway, Baradine and Coonabarabran.

“It was great to attend some of the local events and celebrate Australia Day with so many people in our communities”, said Cr Doolan. “As part of the celebrations, I and the other councillors were pleased to present some very worthy recipients with Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards for 2024.”

Cr Doolan said, “We had many high-quality nominations for this year’s awards and the Selection Committee was challenged in making the final choices.”

The recipients of the 2024 Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards were:

Citizen of the Year

Paul Wangmann (Baradine)

Senior Citizen of the Year

John Franklin (Coonabarabran)

Sportsperson of the Year

Poihaere Birtles (Coonabarabran)

Environmental Citizen of the Year

May Whittall (Coonabarabran)

Cultural Achievement Award

Yulu-gi-Mari Dance Group (Coonabarabran)

Young Citizen of the Year

Declan Eshman (Coonabarabran)

Young Sportsperson of the Year

Kiesha Rusten (Coolah)

Community Event of the Year

Tunes on the Turf Dunedoo (Dunedoo)

Young Environmental Citizen of the Year

St John’s Primary School Baradine Bird Helpers (Baradine)

“These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the things we most value about our local communities and recognise people for their outstanding achievements and contributions. I would like to take this opportunity to again congratulate not only the award recipients but all the nominees,” concluded Cr Doolan.

Click here to download media release  

Australia Day Banner 2024

Last Updated: 05 Feb 2024