1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. Articles

Australia Day Award Nominations 2022 Closing Soon

Is there someone you know or a community group or event that deserves the recognition of an Australia Day Award 2022? Now it the time to nominate them. 

“Each year residents of Warrumbungle Shire are invited to nominate fellow citizens for the Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards,” said Warrumbungle Shire Council, Councillor Ambrose Doolan. “The last year has been tough but this is a great opportunity to recognise and celebrate those across the Shire who are achieving great things and making a difference.”

Since 2005, members across the Shire have been recognised for their contributions to their local communities. Last year there were two Citizen of the Year awards, one was from Binnaway who was acknowledged for his contribution to the Binnaway Showgrounds and as a volunteer for the Binnaway Show Society and Binnaway Tennis Club, the other from Coolah who was acknowledged for their contribution to the Coolah Community for over 40 years on many committees and in many community activities.

In 2016 the Senior Citizen of the Year hailed from Baradine, a quiet achiever, nominated for her commitment to the Baradine Community, being a strong supporter of Royal Far West, Royal Flying doctor Service, Baradine MPS and Baradine Charity Raffles.

“In reading past nominations, these people give you a sense of pride and achievement of what people are doing in our Shire. Their dedication to assisting their community organisations is very impressive,” said Cr Doolan. 

“Council receives so many worthy nominations each year for community members to be recognised and awarded an Australia Day Award. However, Council is limited to the number of recipients awarded each year. So, if you have nominated someone in the past and they haven’t been successful make sure you nominate them again.”
“There are still so many potential recipients out there in the community. Please take the time to look around you and nominate someone who you think deserves recognition for the work they do, or a person who strives to be good at sport, kind to the environment, or that promotes culture in our communities,” Cr Doolan concluded. 

Nomination Forms and Guidelines are available on Council’s website under the ‘Have Your Say’ tab and at Council's Administration Offices in Coolah and Coonabarabran. Nominations close at 4:30pm on Friday 29 October 2021. 

For more information please contact Executive Assistant to General Manager, Erin Player on (02) 6849 2000

Click here to download media release


 Warrumbungle Citizen of the Year - Jim Larkin

Image: L-R Australia Day Ambassador Sonia Gandhi, Warrumbungle Citizen of the Year Jim Larkin with Warrumbungle Shire Council Mayor Councillor Ambrose Doolan.  

Citizen of the Year - Carol Richards 

 Image: L-R Warrumbungle Shire Council Mayor Councillor Ambrose Doolan with Warrumbungle Citizen of the Year Carol Richard and Australia Day Ambassador Matt Hall. 

Last Updated: 15 Oct 2021