1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. Articles

Australia Day Award Winners 2020

On Australia Day 2020 people across the Warrumbungle Shire came together to celebrate what’s great about our country, our Shire and our local communities.

“Councillors spread themselves across the Shire to be at each and every Australia Day celebration in each town”, said Warrumbungle Shire Council Mayor, Councillor Denis Todd.
“As part of the celebrations Council was pleased to present the very worthy recipients with Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards for 2020”.

“It was great to attend the local events and celebrate Australia Day with so many people in our communities.”

Cr Todd said, “We had a number of high quality nominations for this year’s awards and there were many people nominated who could have received the awards. As Councillors we enjoy reading through all the nominations and we take very seriously our role in selecting and presenting these awards”.
The recipients of the 2020 Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards were:

• Citizen of the Year – Murray Henderson, Coolah
• Senior Citizen of the Year – Roy Cameron OAM, Coolah
• Sportsperson of the Year – Jamieson Leeson, Dunedoo
• Cultural Achievement Award – Octagon Players, Coolah
• Community Event of the Year – 2019 Baradine Show, Baradine
• Environmental Citizen of the Year - Sharon Nott- Dunedoo

“These awards are an opportunity to celebrate what’s great about our local communities and recognise people for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the last 12 months”, said Cr Todd.

“I would like to take this opportunity to again congratulate not only the award recipients but all the nominees”, concluded Cr Todd.

Click here to download media release

IMG_2373 - Senior Citizen of the Year - Aus Day

Coolah, Warrumbungle Shire Council Senior Citizen of the Year, Mr Roy Cameron, receiving the Award from Mr Anupam Sharma (Australia Day Ambassador) and Cr Denis Todd (Mayor)

IMG_2357 - Event of the Year - Aus Day

Baradine, Baradine PA&H Association receiving the Award for the Warrumbungle Shire Community Event of the Year for the 2019 Baradine Show. Pictured Cr Denis Todd (Mayor), Lauren Harris (President Baradine PA&H Association), Bruce McConnoughty (Vice President Baradine PA&H Association) and Jeremy Jones AM (Australia Day Ambassador)

IMG_2366 - Citizen of the Year - Aus Day v2

Coolah, Warrumbungle Shire Council Citizen of the Year, Murray Henderson with Cr Anne-Louise Capel

Last Updated: 31 Jan 2020