1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. Articles

Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected

The Special Council Meeting to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Warrumbungle Shire Council was held earlier today in front of a filled gallery at the Council Chambers in Coonabarabran.


With one Councillor absent, votes were evenly split between the two nominees for Mayor, Cr Peter Shinton and Cr Ray Lewis, and in keeping with Office of Local Government protocol resulted in the nominees names being placed in a hat with local Coonabarabran resident Mr Richard Blackman asked to draw the name.

Mayor Peter Shinton was the successful nominee.

A similar story occurred with the two nominees for Deputy Mayor, being Cr Anne-Louise Capel and Cr Denis Todd, with Cr Todd the successful nominee to the position.

General Manager, Steve Loane, welcomed all present to the Call to Council Special Meeting this morning, with Welcome to Country by local Mrs Maureen Sulter.

All Councillors took the Oath of Office, other than Cr Fred Clancy who was an apology to the meeting.

Councillors subsequently participated in workshops during the day as part of their induction to local government.

The Ordinary Council Meeting was held at 3pm, with minutes available on our website early next week.



Last Updated: 29 Sep 2016