1. Home
  2. breadcrumbs separator
  3. breadcrumbs separator
  4. Articles

Council Welcomes School-Based Trainees

In an exciting move, Council has recently welcomed four new school-based trainees into the fields of Horticulture, Tourism and Automotive Servicing.

Warrumbungle Shire Council called for expressions of interest late in 2018 and completed a merit based selection process before offering four school based traineeships to local students, three from Coonabarabran High School and one from Dunedoo Central School.”

Warrumbungle Shire Council, Acting Mayor, Cr Aniello Iannuzzi said, “These school-based trainees will be spending one day per week working for Council for the next two years while they complete a recognised qualification as part of their Higher School Certificate studies.”

Council has worked closely with TAFE, Apprenticeship provider HVTC as well as local schools around the shire area to implement the School-Based Traineeship (SBT) Program.”

Cr Iannuzzi said, “Council’s previous school-based trainee, Jarred Moody, was successful in gaining a highly contested apprenticeship at Whitehaven Coal after completing his time with Council in 2017.”

Council hopes that its new trainees find that their experience with Council and completing their qualification will enable them to strive and achieve their future aims.”

This program is in addition to Council’s existing traineeship program, which currently has two Childcare Trainee positions based at Yuluwirri Kids Preschool and Long Day Care and also a Treatment Plant Trainee based in Coonabarabran” said Cr Iannuzzi.

“Council’s traineeships provide an opportunity to obtain workplace experience as well as a recognised qualification that will improve future employment, both locally and further afield,” Cr Iannuzzi concluded.

School Based Trainees - 2019-20 - Taken 6.3.19

Left to right: Andrew Moody SBT Automotive (Coonabarabran), Ethan Thirkell Parks & Gardens (Coonabarabran), Erin Tyms Tourism (Coonabarabran) and Zac Green Parks and Gardens (Dunedoo).

Click here to download the Media Release.

Last Updated: 04 Apr 2019